Tuesday, May 18, 2010

COMELEC proclaims Osmeña, Lapid and Guingona as senators

May 18, Intramuros, Manila – The Commission on Election proclaims the remaining senatorial candidates who will be completing the list of the senators who won the 2010 Philippine Election. Re-electionist Sergio “Serge” Osmeña III and Lito Lapid gets the 10th and 11th slot respectively and the son of the former Vice President Tiofisto Guingona II, Teofisto “TG” Guingona III secured the 12th senatorial slot. The proclamation was done in the COMELEC office in Intramuros, Manila.

The first 9 senators; Ramon “Bong” Revilla, Jinggoy Estrada, Miriam Defensor, Franklin Drilon, Juan Ponce Enrile, Pia Cayetano, Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. Ralph Recto and Vicente “Tito” Sotto III was proclaimed last Saturday, May 15 at the PICC in Pasay City.

Regarding the 13th senator, Comelec ruled that the senatorial position of the incoming President Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III is still not vacant until he was proclaimed as president elect where it happen in June 30, therefore there is no vacancy in senate where the 13th senator from the 2010 poll will be assuming and right now it is Liberal Party Risa Hontiveros who is in the said post. According to James Jimenez, COMELEC spokesperson in his interview in TV Patrol he says that senatorial candidates can join the special elections and the senator who will be continuing Aquino’s term as senator will be determined.

Bookmark and Share
Subscribe to RSS FeedFollow me on TwitterEmail Me

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

No comments:

Post a Comment

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha Premium Blogger Themes | Best CD Rates | Seo Company | Seo Company Australia | Cheap Seo | Sports Live Stream | game cracks | Best Online Game | Download PC Games | List of Hobbies | Graffiti Styles