Wednesday, May 18, 2011

Winners of the 34th Gawad Urian

Last May 17 at the Marriott Hotel in Newport Manila, the group of Filipino Film Critics (Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino) awarded the winners of the 34th Gawad Urian. Some of the winners who veterans in the independent film making includes Sid Lucero (Best Actor - Muli), Rosanna Roces (Best Supporting Actress - Presa) and Jerrold Tarog (Best Music - Damgo ni Eleuteria).

Here's the complete list of the winners of the 34th Gawad Urian:

Best Picture- Ang Damgo ni Eleuteria (Creative Programs Inc., Panuumduman Pictures)
Best Director- Remton Siega Zuasola (Ang Damgo ni Eleuteria)
Best Screenplay- Arnel Mardoquio (Sheika)
Best Actor- Sid Lucero (Muli)
Best Actress- Fe GingGing Hyde (Sheika)
Best Supporting Actor- Joem Bascon (Noy)
Best Supporting Actress- Rosanna Roces (Presa)
Best Cinematography- Christian Linaban (Ang Damgo ni Eleuteria)
Best in Production Design- Rodell Cruz (Amigo)
Best Editing- Willie Apa Jr. and Arthur Ian Garcia (Sheika)
Best Music- Jerrold Tarog (Damgo ni Eleuteria)
Best Sound- Dempster Samarista (Sheika)
Best Short Film- Pam Miras (Huwag Kang Titingin)
Best Documentary- Monster Jimenez (Kano)

Gawad Urian was established 1977. It is the counterpart of United States' New York Film Critics Circle. The process of selecting the winners is through judging by the members of the Filipino Film Critics (Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino) including  Lito Zulueta, President of MPP, Grace Javier Alfonso, Butch Francisco, Mario Hernando, Bienvenido Lumbera, Miguel Rapatan, Dr. Nicanor Tiongson and Rolando Tolentino. Movies that received the Gawad Urian title includes Oro, Plata, Mata, Ganito kami noon, paano kayo ngayon, Sister Stella L., Ipagpatawad mo,  Bata, bata... Paano ka ginawa?,  Tuhog, Dekada '70, Mga Munting tinig, Magnifico, Babae sa Breakwater, Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros, Kubrador, Serbis and Kinatay.

Gawad Urian also gives tribute to artist who whose contributions to film have helped shaped the great Filipino film through Natatanging Gawad Urian (Gawad Urian Lifetime Achievement Award) and scriptwriter Jose F. Lacaba received the said award. They also give tribute to actors and actress who had won the most number of Gawad Urian Awards for acting in the past decade through their Gawad Urian Aktor at Aktress ng Dekada (Urian Award for Ator and Actress of the Decade) and this year recipients of this award includes Coco Martin, Cherry Pie Picache and Gina PareƱo.

Like this post? Subscribe on my blog by clicking HERE!

Become a Facebook Fan to get more updates from In My Opinion!

You can follow me on

Help fight child hunger, support World Food Programme's WeFeedBack campaign by checking how many children you can feed with your favorite cup of branded coffee. Click here!

Subscribe to my RSS Feed via email!
Enter your email address below:

Delivered by FeedBurner

No comments:

Post a Comment

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha Premium Blogger Themes | Best CD Rates | Seo Company | Seo Company Australia | Cheap Seo | Sports Live Stream | game cracks | Best Online Game | Download PC Games | List of Hobbies | Graffiti Styles